The Vice Chancellor

The current Vice Chancellor is Professor Arthur Sserwanga. He holds a PhD in Entreprenuership and A Master of Science Accounting and Finance . The Vice Chancellor is responsible for the academic, administrative and financial affairs of the University; and in the absence of the Chancellor presides over ceremonial assemblies of the University and confers degrees and other academic titles and distinctions of the University.

The Vice Chancellor is appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the ministry of education and sports, Buganda government. Once elected, sits as a member of the Council and of all its standing committee. Pursuant to university bylaws, the Vice Chancellor is a member of every separate academic unit of the university.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor

There is one Deputy Vice-Chancellor (DVC) in charge of the Academic Affairs of the University. The DVC for Academic Affairs is responsible for the academic affairs of the university. As such, s/he oversees programmes and policies that promote academic excellence in the University; ensures quality of academic programmes; oversees proper planning and coordination of undergraduate and postgraduate academic programmes; coordinates curriculum development; and ensures optimal utilization of teaching, research and library facilities. The DVC Academic Affairs monitors the Faculties and campuses, the University Library and the Department of the Academic Registrar.

University Secretary

The University Secretary is charged with the general administration of the University. As such, his office is concerned with policy formulation as well as policy direction, implementation and decision-making. Specifically, the Office administers Finance, Planning and Institutional development, University Service Units, Council matters, Secretarial Services to Council and Human resources. Some of the sections under the University Secretary’s Office include the Legal Unit, the Estates Unit and the Procurement Unit.

Human Resource Officer

The Human Resources Officer is in charge of personnel activity, such as employment, benefits and staff training and development. Sections under the human resources office include Administration and Personnel, Labour and Welfare, and Appointments Board

Academic Registrar

The Academic Registrar is the chief coordinator of all matters pertaining to the academic organisation of the University: examinations, research, postgraduate studies, syllabuses and is always the Secretary to Senate and its committees. The Academic Registry oversees admissions & records, examinations as well as staff development and ceremonies.

The University Librarian

The University Librarian is the overall head of Muteesa I Royal University Library Services, which comprise of the Main Library and three specialized Branch Libraries. Three of these are located at Kirumba-Masaka main campus and two off campus (namely: Kakeeka-Mengo; and Mubende-Buwekula).

The University Bursar

The University Bursar is the manager of financial transactions in the University. This office is responsible for the maintenance of all financial records in the department and a proper accounting system for the University.

Dean of Students

The Dean of Students coordinates the activities of student accommodation and is responsible for the welfare and discipline of students in the University. Apart from the Halls of Residence, each of which is governed by a Warden, other sections overseen by the Dean's office include sports and recreation, chapels and mosques, students’ guild and the counseling centre.

Director Quality Assurance, Research and Publications

The Director Quality Assurance, Research and Publications provide an oversight role to the Directorate, so as to ensure efficiency and effectiveness in university activities. As part of continuous quality improvement, the Directorate undertakes a periodic critical self-assessment of the university in terms of core activities like; teaching, research and community services.

MRU Events

No events